Bolam Deserted Village (Belsay)
'NZ 092827' Deserted medieval village at Bolam. (1)
The old town of Bolam, granted a market and fair in 1305, consisted of a green enclosed by two rows of houses, of which no vestige remains, running east to west. Traditionally it is said to have had a population of about 900. [Nothing visible on aerial photographs (RAF 1947)]. (2)
The area centred NZ 090824 contains much disturbed ground indicative of depopulation, but no intelligible remains survive. Desertion probably followed emparking. (3)
Bolam was a parochial and baronial centre. An agreement to partition the township made in 1597 represents the first recorded stage in the depopulation of the village. It provided for the construction of a hedged dike running north-south dividing the village and township into two parts.
During the 18th century the number of houses remaining in the village gradually declined. Hodgson recorded that the last of the houses had disappeared soon after 1810. The only surviving buildings were the vicarage, schoolhouse, a farmstead, public house, two cottages and the church and hall. The site is now emparked and only the hall, vicarage and church [NZ 08 SE 18] survive.
There are extensive but vague earthworks and ridge and furrow. There is a row of crofts on the south side of the village, those on the north have been largely destroyed. (4)
Visible on aerial photographs. (5)
Bolam is first mentioned in documents in 1168 when the barony of Bolam was held by Gilbert de Bolam. In 1296 13 people were assessed for the Lay Subsidy; in 1312 17 people were liable. The hedged dike which formed the boundary when the township was divided in 1597 still survives. (6)
The old town of Bolam, granted a market and fair in 1305, consisted of a green enclosed by two rows of houses, of which no vestige remains, running east to west. Traditionally it is said to have had a population of about 900. [Nothing visible on aerial photographs (RAF 1947)]. (2)
The area centred NZ 090824 contains much disturbed ground indicative of depopulation, but no intelligible remains survive. Desertion probably followed emparking. (3)
Bolam was a parochial and baronial centre. An agreement to partition the township made in 1597 represents the first recorded stage in the depopulation of the village. It provided for the construction of a hedged dike running north-south dividing the village and township into two parts.
During the 18th century the number of houses remaining in the village gradually declined. Hodgson recorded that the last of the houses had disappeared soon after 1810. The only surviving buildings were the vicarage, schoolhouse, a farmstead, public house, two cottages and the church and hall. The site is now emparked and only the hall, vicarage and church [NZ 08 SE 18] survive.
There are extensive but vague earthworks and ridge and furrow. There is a row of crofts on the south side of the village, those on the north have been largely destroyed. (4)
Visible on aerial photographs. (5)
Bolam is first mentioned in documents in 1168 when the barony of Bolam was held by Gilbert de Bolam. In 1296 13 people were assessed for the Lay Subsidy; in 1312 17 people were liable. The hedged dike which formed the boundary when the township was divided in 1597 still survives. (6)
N10586
FIELD OBSERVATION (VISUAL ASSESSMENT), Ordnance Survey Archaeology Division Field Investigation 1968; B H Pritchard
Disclaimer -
Please note that this information has been compiled from a number of different sources. Durham County Council and Northumberland County Council can accept no responsibility for any inaccuracy contained therein. If you wish to use/copy any of the images, please ensure that you read the Copyright information provided.